When Competitions Hinder You

Winter Hill

This is really, really odd.

The Richard & Judy bookclub, that well known bastion of literary knowledge and talent, has teamed up with a person favourite publisher of mine, Quercus to bring you: Richard & Judy’s Search for a Bestseller.

Aspiring authors, emerging writers, send your first 10,000 words to them along with a biography and a synopsis and you could win a publishing deal worth £50,000. Simple right? Amazing, yes? An incredible opportunity? No.

See, I was kind of thinking about entering. I have a partially complete novel which I’m getting more and more confident about as I continue writing it. I have a synopsis which is more or less getting there and my biography is a bunch of words that appear in places. Plus, I figure my novel would fit quite nicely within Quercus’ line-up of titles.

Then I read, as I recommend you all do right now,

View original post 538 more words

Leave a Reply

