News, Reviews and Oslo, baby

So, Killing Daniel is out on Monday. Bang! Fireworks and all that. The build-up is starting to get quite exciting with fortune cookies afoot at the Norwich launch which takes place on 9 November to kick off the Unlit Festival!

I’m escaping the country tonight for a weekend in Oslo. The excitement is all too much! No, it was booked ahead.

The day I get back the book will be properly pre-orderable. Although I know people who pre-ordered theirs ages ago have them already! I’ve actually signed one. That’s a weird feeling. As are the reviews. I thought it would be difficult to take, but there aren’t any (yet) they make me want to curl up, strain out my writerly ambitions, and become a police woman. Or something like that. You know, something sensible.

What it has made me do, and reaffirmed, is a drive to keep changing and improving. Writing evolves as you do, I reckon and any critiques fuel this desire in me. We had a visiting writer at Edge Hill recently, Joe Stretch (very funny) and he said that all novels are imperfect. I picked up on this perhaps because I hope it’s true but it also makes sense. There are many novels I’ve loved – Troll, Johanna Sinisalo, Electricity, Ray Robinson, Sleep with Me, Joanna Briscoe etc, but none were exactly, precisely as I would have wanted them. For me, this reader. 

You can read a compilation of all the recent reviews about Killing Daniel here, and see what you think. Thanks to everyone who’s been kind and nice. Please leave reviews on Amazon and Goodreads if you have the time – it helps! Honest!

More news soon about the Manchester launch, which will take place at the King’s Arms, just in time for Xmas. I’ll have to bring some mulled wine. 🙂

x

Killing Daniel

 

Buy

Leave a Reply

